HomeSkip Navigation LinksEvents > Golden Oars Awards Dinner

Golden Oars Awards Dinner

Thank you to all the guests and sponsors of the 2013 Golden Oars Awards Dinner, which took place Wednesday, November 20, 2013, at the New York Athletic Club in New York City!

Click here to view photos of the evening on USRowing's Facebook page.

Co-hosted by USRowing and the National Rowing Foundation, the Golden Oars Awards Dinner is in its third year of recognizing excellence in rowing. Golden Oars is the one time each year when the rowing community gathers to honor its own. Proceeds from the dinner help support USRowing’s national teams and its diversity, inclusion and adaptive programs.

Highlighting the event will be the presentation of seven of USRowing’s longstanding awards, recognizing members of the rowing community for their service and commitment to the sport including the USRowing Medal, Jack Kelly Award, Jack Franklin Award, and USRowing Male and Female Athletes of the Year. 

USRowing also will present the Anita DeFrantz Award, honoring leaders in diversity and inclusion, and the Isabel Bohn Award, recognizing achievement in adaptive rowing.

Seven Fan’s Choice awards – honoring excellence in rowers/coxswains/coaches in the junior, collegiate, masters and national team categories – will also be presented that evening.

  • USRowing Medal - Ted Nash
  • Male Athlete of the Year - Henrik Rummel
  • Female Athlete of the Year - Kate Bertko
  • Jack Franklin Award - John Walker
  • Jack Kelly Award - Fritz Hagerman
  • Anita DeFrantz Award - Chicago Training Center
  • Isabel Bohn Award - Mark Baiada
  • Fan's Choice Junior Athlete of the Year - Carolina Ratcliff
  • Fan's Choice Collegiate Athlete of the Year - Justin Jones
  • Fan's Choice Masters Athlete of the Year - Jack Nunn
  • Fan's Choice National Team Athlete of the Year - Amanda Polk
  • Fan's Choice Junior Coach of the Year - Holly Hatton
  • Fan's Choice Collegiate Coach of the Year - Charley Sullivan
  • Fan's Choice Masters Coach of the Year - Deidre McLoughlin

We are grateful to our sponsors: One Equity Partners, The Jordan Company, Citi , Goldman Sachs, John A. Chatzky, 2017 World Rowing Championship Host Destination Sarasota- Bradenton, JanSport, Ludus Tours, Property Resources Corporation, Hospital for Special Surgery, Michael J. Brown and Sports Physical Therapy Institute.

For more information please contact Beth Kohl at

View photos from past Golden Oars Awards events!



To purchase tickets or secure a table, click on ticket link below.